Brief Background

MAICSA was founded in 1959 as an affiliated body to ICSA. It is now one of the nine Divisions of ICSA worldwide, having achieved a Division status in 2001. Membership of the Institute is limited only to members and students of the Institute residing in Malaysia. As of early 2016, the Institute has about 4,200 members (comprising Fellows and Associates) and Graduates, 2,100 students and 600 Affiliates.

There are two classes of membership of the Institute, ie Fellows and Associates. All qualified members of the Institute are entitled to describe themselves as Chartered Secretaries and use the designatory letters, FCIS or ACIS as appropriate. Fellowship is the senior grade of membership. Another grade, Grad ICSA comprises those who have successfully completed the examinations but have not yet gained sufficient qualifying service for Associateship.

In tandem with its mission of developing good corporate professionals, MAICSA is committed to maintaining the highest standard of integrity and ethical values within the profession. MAICSA also acts as a change catalyst in the corporate arena, participating actively in the enhancement of corporate governance. It has been championing best practices in corporate governance and educating the Malaysian corporate sector on its importance.


To be the premier professional body in promoting good governance and best practices in organisations.


To provide education and training in good governance, ethical practices and corporate administration.
To undertake research, development and publication of governance guides and standards.
To commit Chartered Secretaries to uphold and advocate good governance principles and practices.

Structure of the Institute

The Institute is governed by a Council consisting of elected Fellows of the Institute. The Council also establishes various Committees and Task Forces to assist in the running of the Institute. In the management and day-to-day operations of the Institute, the Council is supported by the Secretariat.

MAICSA Council members 2019/2020

Dr Syed A Hamid Aljunid FCIS (CS) (CGP) PHD, M Econs, B Econs (President)
Datuk Suseela Menon PJN, JMN, FCIS (CS)(CGP) , (Deputy President)
Vincent Tan Choong Khiang FCIS (CS)(CGP)(Vice President)
Simon Yeoh Seng Leng FCIS (CS) (CGP), FCTIM, AMIM (Hon Secretary)
Puan Wan Haslinda Wan Yusoff FCIS (CS) (CGP) (Hon Treasurer)
Ms Chua Siew Chuan FCIS (CS) (CGP) ( Past President)
Ms Irene Woo Ying Pun FCIS (CS) (CGP)
Dato’ Akbar Moidunny FCIS (CS) (CGP)
Ms Jasmindar Kaur FCIS (CS) (CGP)
Dato’ Heng Ji Keng FCIS (CS) (CGP) B Econs(UM), MCom (NSW), FCA(Aust), FCPA(Aust),CA(M) (Immediate Past President)

The Malaysian Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators