The Institute of Certified Public Secretaries of Kenya (ICPSK) is a Professional Membership Association that was established by an Act of Parliament, the Certified Public Secretaries of Kenya, Cap. 534 of the Laws of Kenya, in 1988.


To be a world class Institute and centre of excellence in governance, administration and management.


To promote the practice of good governance, administration and management through competence development of members and dissemination of knowledge on best practice to stakeholders.

Core values

Integrity and Honesty, Professionalism, Team work, Creativity and Innovation, Transparency and Accountability and Social Responsibility

Core functions

The Institute is responsible for enhancing professional competence among members of the Institute and promoting the profession nationally, regionally and globally. The functions of the Institute as stipulated in the Certified Public Secretaries (CPS) of Kenya Act Cap 534 under Section 7 are: –
a) To promote standards of professional competence and practice amongst members of the Institute;
b) To promote research into subjects of secretarial practice and finance and related matters, publication of books, periodicals, journals and articles in connection therewith;
c) To promote international recognition of the Institute;
d) To advise the Kenya Accountants and Secretaries National Examinations Board on the matters relating to examination standards and policies;
e) To carry out any other functions prescribed for it under any of the provisions of the Act or under any other written law;
f) To do anything incidental or conducive to the performance of the functions specified under this statute.


The Institute is headed by a Council, which is the policy making body and responsible for the overall management of the Institute. The Council is appointed pursuant to Section 8 of the CPS of Kenya Act and operates through Committees. The following are the Current Council Members:

2014/2015 Committee Members

CS Dr Nicholas K. Letting’, HSC PhD, MKIM, FCPA(K), Chairman CS
Nkirote Mworia-Njiru, FCPS (K), Vice-Chairman
CS Pius M Nduatih, OGW, FCPS (K), Council Member
CS Patrick S Mutemi, FCPS(K), Council Member
CS Bernice Gachegu, FCPS(K), Council Member
CS Beatrice Meso, Council Member
CS Nelly Matheka, Council Member
CS Tom Omariba
CS Calvin M Nyachoti, LLB, LLM, MBA, FCIArb, Council Member
CS Waweru G. Mathenge, FCPS (K), Council Member
CS Dennis B. Aroka FCPS(K), Council Member

Institute of Certified Public Secrateries of Kenya

Member Type:

Full Member